What did I do to deserve you, daughter, waking me from my sleep with your excited squeals to greet the new day?

What did I do to deserve you, stealing the other kids’ breakfast and then deciding to spit it out on their plates?

What did I do to deserve you, trekking to the top of the mountain, holding your father’s hand for balance over the rocky trail?

What did I do to deserve you, plucking flowers and smelling them before holding them out to me so I can do the same?

What did I do to deserve you, throwing a temper tantrum because I won’t let you drink my margarita at lunch?

What did I do to deserve you, waking me from my nap with an epic, hour-long meltdown?

What did I do to deserve you, planting corn seeds in the dirt and then digging them up and eating them?

What did I do to deserve you, playing with your cousins, your laughter carrying on the breeze?

What did I do to deserve you, splashing in the tub and playing peek-a-boo with the washcloth?

What did I do to deserve you, munching on popcorn, sitting in your grandmother’s lap while we play cards?

What did I do to deserve you, cuddled in my arms, eyelids half closed?

 

Leave a Reply

