As I gear up for festival and farmers market season, I thought now is as good a time as ever to share all my secrets.

A common thing people say when looking at my wearable photography shirts is, “I can make that myself.”

Well, yes.

And no.

I start with my own photographs, which are high enough quality to be manipulated to fit a Montana shape without losing clarity.

Then, the amazing folks at fivehead’s in Havre print the graphics on pre-washed muslin.

Because the shirts need to be washable, the prints are then ironed at a high temperature to set the ink and ensure they won’t bleed or fade.

Once I get them home, they get ironed again before iron-on material gets added. Each print is then hand cut.

At this point the photos are ready to be ironed onto 40-60 cotton-polyester blend shirts.

Then, it’s time for my sister-in-law Becki to work her magic. (I don’t know how to sew … yet … but she does!) She cuts backing for each shirt, chooses thread color and then carefully stitches each photo.

Finally, after going through three people, the shirts are ready for you!

So can you make them?

Technically, yes.

And yet, no.

Like most things, there’s more to the shirts’ story than meets the eye.

Each shirt is a piece of carefully crafted functional art that showcases this state we love  while supporting family and a local business.

[Make sure to check out Etsy and Facebook for summer prints and winter prints (on sale!).]

 

 

Leave a Reply

